Welcome to the Correlation – Noah

Last fall, I made another step toward what I consider normalcy. I started a Twitter account. My first tweet said, “Welcome to the future, where college classes require Twitter accounts.” This semester I’m taking a class in social media, and it requires the whole trifecta: Facebook, Twitter, and a WordPress blog. I’m teaming up with two other students—you’ll meet them later—to create an online community. We’re all Christian, college-aged geeks, so we decided to make one for other people like us.

We decided to introduce ourselves in our first posts. I feel like I’m sitting in a ring of chairs in a church basement.
“Hi. My name is Noah. And I’m a nerd. I’m also a Christian.”
I consider both of these things big parts of my identity, and sometimes it’s not easy to hold both of them at once. Most science fiction, for example, is based on an evolutionary worldview, which is contrary to Biblical Christianity. But faith and fandom are not necessarily mutually exclusive. Fiction can help illustrate spiritual matters, and Christianity can provide an interesting perspective on fandoms.

Welcome to the Correlation.

Honestly, I never know what to say in one of these things. In this case, I can list some of my fandoms. They represent my “nerd cred.”  I’ll be discussing some of these in future blog posts.
I have joint citizenship in the fan domains of:
Superwholock (Supernatural, Doctor Who, and Sherlock are different universes except on the Internet)
Marvel – Agents of SHIELD, Agent Carter, Daredevil, Jessica Jones, the films in that universe; also the cartoons
DC Comics – Arrow, the Flash, that Justice League show that premiered last night, Supergirl, Gotham, Smallville…and Batman. Lots of Batman. Also the cartoons
Joss Whedon – Buffy, Angel, Firefly, Dollhouse, Agents of SHIELD, and Much Ado About Nothing.
Percy Jackson, the Kane Chronicles, and the crossover that Riordan should really get to work on
and more.

– Noah

One thought on “Welcome to the Correlation – Noah

Leave a Reply

