Is it okay to question God?

A few years ago I became a member of the fandom for the alternative rock band Red. As I was listening to their music for the first time, I came across a song called Let It Burn. Here are some of the lyrics for you.

How long can you stand the pain?

How long will you hide your face?

How long will you be afraid?7b6e474719b0dbcef5c304f4ab5b1922

Are you afraid?

How long will you play this game?

Will you fight or will you walk away?

How long will you let it burn?

While I loved how powerfully the emotions of the song are expressed through the music and the vocals, I was a bit confused about what the song was actually saying. It sounded as though it was directed towards God, but it seemed strange to ask God those kinds of questions. Aren’t you just supposed to accept that God knows best and never question Him?

Then one day I was reading my Bible and I came across Psalm 89:46. “How long, O Lord? Will you hide yourself forever? How long will your wrath burn like fire?”

Suddenly the song made much more sense. Once I realized it was based in the psalms, I got very excited and I did a mini Bible study on the spot. I came up with several more psalms that corresponded with the lyrics of the song. Psalm 27:9, Psalm 13:1-2, and Psalm 90:5-13, for example. This was a powerful discovery for me. The psalms are largely written by King David, who is called a man after God’s own heart. If David wrestled with these questions, and they’re recorded in the Bible, it must be okay for us to wrestle with these things too. God is big enough to handle our doubts and our questions, but I think He wants us to talk to Him about them. In any relationship, you can’t resolve an issue without talking to the other person about it. God wants to have a relationship with us, so don’t be afraid to ask questions, just don’t forget to listen for answers.

~ Arth

Let’s Connect
@Arthwaya
@CorrelationBlog

https://www.facebook.com/thecorrelationblog

2 thoughts on “Is it okay to question God?

Leave a Reply

