“Who You Gonna Call?”

You know that feeling you get when you walk into a room, see an elephant standing there, and don’t feel obligated to talk about it?

For some reason, that’s how I feel about the upcoming Ghostbusters movie. For those of you who haven’t seen the new trailer, this movie puts two scientists, a nerdy spiritualist, and their street-wise friend into a car loaded with unlicensed proton packs and awkwardly-placed slime jokes…again. The difference is that it’s now four women.

In case you’re wondering, that’s the aforementioned elephant.

I have nothing against girl-power movies. I like a well-written and strong female character as much as the next guy. This isn’t against the new movie, though that is what inspired this. This is about the franchise as a whole.

As I feel my generation did, I watched Ghostbusters for the purpose of getting in on the jokes and references. Unlike my peers, I had difficulty actually laughing at it, maybe because I took it too seriously.

You see, I have a different stance on ghosts than some. I do not believe in ghosts. I believe that when we die, we go to heaven, or we go to hell. No purgatory. No limbo. And no haunting anywhere in this world.

“But Isaac,” I hear you say, “how do you explain all the ghost sightings?”

I’ll put it this way: I don’t believe in ghosts. I do believe in demons.

As such, the film poses some interesting philosophical concepts, namely the use of technology to combat supernatural powers. The Bible gives us a different set of rules. In Luke 9:1, Jesus gives the Twelve “power and authority to drive out all demons,” and Paul points out in Ephesians 6:12, “Our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against…the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.”

However, even though we do have strength over demons, I do not believe we should seek them out and stop them. Remember that Peter refers to Satan as “like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour.” (I Peter 5:8) Should demons come, we should be ready, but we are not to go looking for a fight. There’s a reason Peter opens the above verse with “Be alert and of sober mind,” and not “Let the hunt begin, my brothers!”

Chalk it up to my inability to suspend disbelief for two hours; these are just my opinions on Ghostbusters.

Let’s Connect:

@Isaac_Trenti

@CorrelationBlog

 

One thought on ““Who You Gonna Call?”

Leave a Reply

