How the Media Portrays Jesus, Part IV: “My Personal Favorite”

Okay, I’ve weeded through heresy, very-heresy, and could-possibly-be-heresy-except-we-really-don’t-know-this-side-of-Heaven. I’ve touched on every adaptation of Jesus that I’ve come across, except for one. I’ve been saving it for last, because it is my personal favorite: The Bible miniseries.

For those of you who missed it, it was ten episodes long and was released in 2013 on the History Channel, with a theatrical re-edit (Son of God) released the following year. I remember watching this with my right hand on the remote and my left hand flipping through the pages of my Bible.

Having compared it to the Scriptures, I call this one the most accurate. Here’s my reasoning:

While several parts were left out for the sake of time, it only departs from scripture once, wherein Jesus says in a narmy tone, “We’re going to change the world.” Jesus is shown to be emotionally balanced, being neither too chill nor too out-of-control. A “hypostatic goldilocks zone,” if you will.

But how was Jesus emotionally balanced in this show? He displayed love. And that is what sold the performance for me. Sure, He—the Biblical Christ—wasn’t emotionally deadpan like in some Jesus movies. And He certainly was not flawed like in Family Guy or The Last Temptation of Jesus Christ. Those interpretations can pass away for all I care, because they do not show God’s love, or Jesus’ for that matter.

Every Christian knows this verse, to the point that it has become a mindless mantra. “For God so loved the world that he gave his only Son, so that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.”

“For God so loved the world…”

“For God so loved…”

God loved. And that, I believe, should be the point of any interpretation of Jesus. If there is no love, there is no point.

Thanks for sticking with me for this two week long ramble. I’ll be posting next Wednesday on a different topic. Until then, let’s connect!

@Isaac_Trenti

@CorrelationBlog

2 thoughts on “How the Media Portrays Jesus, Part IV: “My Personal Favorite”

  1. Thanks for this insightful look at Jesus in media, I agree that the focus should be that God Loved. Without love he would have no emotion, and probably would not have come in the first place.

    Like

Leave a Reply

