On Which Side are You in the Civil War? [SPOILER FREE]

How I’m Doing This: I’ll be placing a “sticker” over anything that I think bears plot significance or take away from the viewing of the movie for the first time. (e.g.: Darth Vader said, “No, [SPOILER]”) Things revealed in clips and trailers will be left untouched, though, so fair warning.

So, I got around to watching Captain America: Civil War last Monday. Much like Noah, I went in Team Cap. Unlike Noah, I left Team Cap.

Look, I’m gonna be honest with you, I usually side with the guy who wants to fight for what’s right, while also factoring in this person’s character. I wouldn’t side with a well-intentioned jerk, even if the other side is a neutral party.

And just so we’re clear, no there will not be a “Correlation: Civil War.” The differing opinions between me and my co-writer are the closest we’ll get.

As for my takeaway from the film, I thought it had a lot of interesting themes. I liked how it wasn’t the Avengers fighting a Norse god or the dark side of the internet, but rather it was [SPOILER] each other.

The part that stood out to me was the scene right before Team Cap and Team Iron Man went to battle in the long-expected clash.

It was in this moment that I realized exactly why I chose Team Cap. Steve knows fully well that there is a greater good for which he needs to fight: [SPOILER]

I guess it’s those things that make it easier for me to choose a side. I don’t stand with the jerks, I stand with the friends. After all, “Greater love has no one than this: to lay down one’s life for one’s friends.” (John 15:13, NIV)

Other things I liked: [SPOILER], Spider-Man, [SPOILER], Tony’s “Iron Glove,” [SPOILER], Wanda’s “you’re-gonna-have-terrible-dreams-tonight” face when Scott calls her “great” and forgets her name, Black Panther [SPOILER], the soundtrack/score,and [SPOILER].

Things I didn’t like: call it a knee-jerk reaction, but [SPOILER].

 

Man, this is a lot shorter without the spoilers. Here’s the “Spoiled Version” for comparison.

Let’s Connect!

@Isaac_Trenti

@CorrelationBlog

One thought on “On Which Side are You in the Civil War? [SPOILER FREE]

Leave a Reply

