On Which Side Are You in the Civil War? [SPOILERS]

So, I got around to watching Captain America: Civil War last Monday. Much like Noah, I went in Team Cap. Unlike Noah, I left Team Cap.

Look, I’m gonna be honest with you, I usually side with the guy who wants to fight for what’s right, while also factoring in this person’s character. I wouldn’t side with a well-intentioned jerk, even if the other side is a neutral party.

And just so we’re clear, no there will not be a “Correlation: Civil War.” The differing opinions between me and my co-writer are the closest we’ll get.

Also, spoilers, spoilers, SPOILERS. Lots of spoilers ahead. I’ll be posting a spoiler-free version for those wanting to go into the movie clean. Here’s a link.

As for my takeaway from the film, I thought it had a lot of interesting themes. I liked how it wasn’t the Avengers fighting a Norse god or the dark side of the internet, but rather it was just a random dude with a chip on his shoulder, pulling strings and turning the Avengers on themselves, getting them to fight each other.

The part that stood out to me was the scene right before Team Cap and Team Iron Man went to battle in the long-expected clash.

It was in this moment that I realized exactly why I chose Team Cap. Steve knows fully well that there is a greater good for which he needs to fight: not just the defense of his friend, but also the threat of a dangerous weapon getting into the wrong hands.

I guess it’s those things that make it easier for me to choose a side. I don’t stand with the jerks, I stand with the friends. After all, “Greater love has no one than this: to lay down one’s life for one’s friends.” (John 15:13, NIV)

Other things I liked: Scarlet Witch containing Crossbones’ explosion, Spider-Man, Bucky and Cap clearing the stairwell, Gi-Ant-Man, Tony’s “Iron Glove,” Wanda dropping Vision through the outer crust of the planet, Hawkeye’s dialogue, Wanda’s “you’re-gonna-have-terrible-dreams-tonight” face when Scott calls her “great” and forgets her name, Black Panther (especially with his father), the soundtrack/score, and Tony’s brief alliance with Cap.

Things I didn’t like: call it a knee-jerk reaction, but the spider-signal in the second post-credits scene. Stupid idea, stupid concept, doesn’t fit with Spider-man’s character. No. Just no. Stop. Marvel. Stop. Don’t ruin Spider-Man: Homecoming like this.

Let’s Connect!

@Isaac_Trenti

@CorrelationBlog

 

One thought on “On Which Side Are You in the Civil War? [SPOILERS]

Leave a Reply

