Five Nights at STOP

I was going to write a post on Rick & Morty, but things went sideways on Saturday, May 21, 2016, at roughly 2:00 in the afternoon. I don’t exactly remember the events that transpired, but this was whatever I did either culminated to or started with the following:

The Five Nights at Freddy’s franchise needs to stop.

I’m fighting back every urge to fill this entry with hatred and spite towards the series. If one said that I’m saying these things because I don’t like the games, well…they would only be half-wrong.

I used to be a part of the FNAF fanbase. I watched Markiplier and Jacksepticeye play through the games. I indulged myself in hours of fan theories. The lore and story fascinated me.

Then Five Nights 4 came out. I think it had something to do with the series no longer being a trilogy, but a franchise. Or that it came back in force after 2 and 3. Or  that I met…how should I say this…obsessed members of the fanbase.

I was walking through the aisles of my local department store, and there was a display of FNAF plushies in the toy aisle.

Then it hit me. This game is a video game that I would peg as M-rated (it currently has no rating)…marketed to children. I would be fine with either of those traits were they separate. (M-rated or marketed to kids, not both.)

There may be no such thing as bad publicity, but I don’t care. I know my words may mean nothing, but some things need to be said.

Dear Scott Cawthon,

I am impressed with the work that you have done with the Five Nights at Freddy’s franchise. You defied the tropes and cliches of the horror genre to bring a unique, scary, and quote-unquote “clean” experience.

But you’re a Christian.

And I’m certain that you realize your audience is mostly children.

So, I ask you this: What. Kind. Of. Christian. Intentionally. Scares. Children? When I found out that I was “scary,” I didn’t go around actively trying to scare people. And I still live in fear that I’ll give somebody nightmares. I never thought I’d hear myself say this, but at least Resident Evil, Silent Hill, and Dead Space have (or had) the decency to say that their games aren’t kid-friendly.

I understand that there is a difference between a Christian artist and an artist who happens to be a Christian. And your faith does show through your work. Nevertheless, I cannot help but be skeptical when the primary target audience for anything “scary” becomes children.

God bless.

Isaac Trenti

Twitter: @Isaac_Trenti

P.S.: Sister Location? Seriously?

4 thoughts on “Five Nights at STOP

  1. WOW great post!! I do agree to a certain extent. The content of the last one especially (as you said) is anything but “kid friendly”, and I would NEVER want my 7 and 5 yr old siblings seeing ANYTHING of it (or of 1-3 for that matter), just because of how terrifying it is. With the plushies, its actually kind of weird how the only people I know (who know anything of fnaf) that want them are older teens, not really younger kids. But still, selling something like that in the KIDS isle is just ridiculous. And I agree again, its just becoming a franchise now. Ive also met some die-hard fans, and they ARE like really weird.

    But, I’m still looking forward to the next one for a few reasons. first, there were a few holes in the story that we got from fnaf 1-4, and I hope that scott will cover those in sister location. Second, it does look incredible. I’m guessing you have seen the trailer, and the characters look amazing and horrifying, but not in an overbearing “demon possessed” way, which is a nice break from fnaf 4. To me they actually look like characters I would see in a kids place (at least more so than any from fnaf 1-4) Third, Scott has made at least 4 new characters (SPOILER ALERT: there are 7-8 new characters in the new game), and besides the “bonnie puppet” I really don’t see too much that is from the last 4. In fact the whole layout we have seen looks completely different than fnaf 1-4. (end of rant)

    But anyway, I agree that marketing something that is scary TO KIDS is just wrong in every possible way.

    Like

    1. Thank you, elliot.
      Two things: First, my response to the toys actually an older “trigger” of sorts. The first time I came across it was when I watched “The Nightmare Before Christmas,” when I was in high school. Not a bad movie, but considering it was marketed towards kids, it rubbed me the wrong way. It still does, for the record.
      Second, I know what you mean with the fans you’ve met being older teens. All the people I know of who played/owned/watched those games were in my age-range (college age). Except one, who was about thirteen/fourteen when the first one came out. And that worried me, but I pegged him as mature enough to handle it. The least Scott could do is send the games through the ESRB to have them rate it. I dread the thought of a parent buying their five-year-old son/daughter a “cute pirate fox,” not knowing what they could be exposing their child to.

      Like

  2. actually I take back about what I said about most of the people being teens. I went to the beach the other day, and there were three 8-10 year olds carrying around plush fnaf characters, and more worryingly they seemed to know what they were from. I agree, horror should never be marketed to kids.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

