One-Punch Man and Doom: Is there Such a Thing as Senseless Violence?

So, it’s officially summertime. The sun is shining, the birds are singing, the flowers are showing their faces, and I’ve taken the time to catch up on some older shows, and watch some new ones. Or new to me, at least.

That said, after putting it off for quite some time, I finally got around to watching the 2015 Anime adaptation of One-Punch Man. I’m only three episodes in, so my opinions aren’t well-formulated. So far, the only problem I have with it is the graphic nature of the violence.

I mean, it’s called One-Punch Man. It’s not gonna be another Lucky Star, that’s for sure.

Last weekend, I got to hang out with a few of my friends, and one of them shared his copy of the new Doom with me. Ever-present demonic symbolism aside, I couldn’t help but note how violent it is. It should go without saying too. Doom has been violent since the 90’s.

So why am I noticing it?

Before I continue, I should point out that I’m not here to bash the glorification of violence. If I did, 1) I would be a hypocrite, as my job here as a blogger requires me to revel in a bit of violence, and 2) I’d be fighting an uphill battle. Humankind has been glorifying violence since the Old Testament. (1 Samuel 18:7, anyone?)

I realized that violence in entertainment has become par for the course a long time ago. I’m not saying it’s a bad thing. I conform to the philosophy that a character is defined by his/her actions. Saitama (the hero of One-Punch Man) kills every bad guy he comes across, usually because they interrupted his day, and he felt like proving his strength. Doomguy, the aptly-named hero of Doom, isn’t defined that much in the new game, but he was in the older ones. In Doom 3, he was fighting for his survival as much as the survival of everyone in the colony. In Doom 2 (a sequel to 3, somehow) he’s saving Earth from hordes of demons. He’s excessively violent because he has to be.

The way I see it, for everything there is a reason, especially in entertainment where time is short. Does the violent actions help establish the character? Or is it just there for the sake of keeping attention?

 

Let’s Connect!

@Isaac_Trenti

@CorrelationBlog

2 thoughts on “One-Punch Man and Doom: Is there Such a Thing as Senseless Violence?

  1. I think its a mixture of both, personally.
    Also on an unrelated side note, I know some people say that fighting and violence in video games is bad, and I slightly agree. But what I don’t agree with is that people will say its unbiblical. God used wars and violence to establish Israel, commanding the Hebrews to slaughter every Canaanite (men, woman and children) and all their possessions. And when the Hebrews disobeyed and were not violent enough, and partly because of that God had Saul killed.

    Like

    1. True. The verse I cited in the article (1 Samuel 18:7) is the song of the women, counting the kills Saul and David made. The reason I think people call violence “unbiblical” is born out of “unbiblical” being a buzzword for “generally bad,” or “not fitting to our doctrine,” the latter of which could fit. (As opposed to “not of the Bible.”) I personally do not believe all violence is bad, but only when it is absolutely unnecessary, then problems arise. God used violence to do everything from protect his chosen people (Judges) to tempering them (Acts, 1 Peter 1), because it had to be done. For us as humans, we are commanded to be “slow to become angry, because human anger does not produce the righteousness that God desires.” (James 1:19-20) That said, it kind of depends on how you define “biblical” or, in this case, “unbiblical.” Thanks!

      Like

Leave a Reply

