Updates and Relevancy

Updates

So, as Noah mentioned on Twitter, he’ll be taking a break for the rest of the summer. His explanation was that his summer is getting busy.

While he’s off enjoying his summer—as he should—I’ll be here, maintaining my usual schedule of uploading every Wednesday as usual.

Speaking of uploads, I plan on doing a Bible-themed series over the month of July, starting on the 6th. I can’t say much about it now because I’m still in the planning phase, but I have hopes that it’ll be good.

And about this week’s post: I didn’t have anything to write about, really. So I’m just going to write things.

Finding Dory vs. Independence Day: Resurgence

What happens when you wait too long for a sequel to a successful movie? Well, you can easily avoid “sequelitis,” but you have the problem of nobody wanting to see it anymore.

I say this because, within these two weeks, we are getting/got two: Finding Dory, the sequel to a thirteen-year-old movie, and Independence Day: Resurgence, the sequel to a twenty-year-old movie. As one who’s seen both originals and neither sequels, and who doesn’t care too much for either movies, I wonder just what the respective companies are up to by waiting this long.

I’m sure both of them have valid reasons. Pixar wanted to explore other original story ideas like Cars, Incredibles, and WALL-E; Independence Day, for lack of a better explanation, lost its charm when the 9/11 attack happened.

Nevertheless, my question is, “Are they still relevant?”

For Finding Dory: Yes. There’s still quite a large following for the original, and the people who watched it as kids are now adults/teenagers looking to relive childhood nostalgia.

Independence Day: Resurgence: No. Our “World Gets Destroyed” movies have changed too much since 1996. It’s not cool that a city gets razed; it’s tragic. It comes out in two days; I doubt this movie will break any box office records. I certainly won’t help much. I’ve made other plans for Friday.

Let’s Connect:

@Isaac_Trenti

@CorrelationBlog

Leave a Reply

