Set This On The Table, Part IV

Well, let’s get on with the last entry of Set This On The Table. It’s been a long month for me, so I’m going to wrap this up.

 

Wrapping this Up

Usually when I write something on this blog, I try to have a point in writing it. I started this series with the intent to unpack the Bible the way one would unpack an episode of Doctor Who, or Supernatural. Analyzing to the point of over-analyzing.

But that was the only point, and not really a good one. I needed a new one.

And the other day, I got one.

I’m not analyzing Scripture for this one; I’m leaving a challenge with you.

My challenge is to never let the Bible become boring.

It’s as simple as that. I believe the Bible is one of the most truthful books, with a little bit of something for everyone. Like action and adventure? Read Judges, 1 Samuel and 2 Samuel, in that order. Like romance? Try the book of Ruth. Like watching a grand story unfold of how God sets the stage for his Son to enter the world, then puts that Son into the world to die for our sins (paying a price so valuable it could only be paid with the blood of God Incarnate), and then proceed to raise Him from the dead? Read the entire Bible front to back.

If anything, this series was to prove a point that the Bible is very interesting. There’s a lot of incredible things that get underplayed (or overplayed, depending on your Bible study plan). When Christ was on Earth, he spoke of children and childlike humility. (Matthew 18:3-5) Maybe that is a hint to approach the Bible with a sense of childlike awe and wonder.

I leave this challenge to you and close the series. I’ll be back next week, talking about geeky/nerdy stuff again.

Leave a Reply

