Sister Location: You’d Think I’d Be Mad

Last Friday, October 7th, Scott Cawthon dropped his latest game, Five Nights at Freddy’s: Sister Location. I honestly forgot about it the week before it came out, probably because for once he didn’t release it early.

You’d think that I’d be mad that the horror game franchise has once again returned, this time with a polished chrome exterior. The horror lives on, terrifying our children, that kind of thing.

But, I would like to point out, my chief issue with the franchise was not with the games, it was with the merchandising. Make an R-rated movie, M-rated game, or similar and I won’t have a problem. Market it to children, and then we have issues. To be honest, the same problems I had with Five Nights are the same problems I had with The Nightmare Before Christmas.

Yeah, that one. The Tim Burton musical. I watched it when I was in high school, and I was put off by it. I was able to respect it as a surreal movie and as a musical, but as a kid’s movie? No. No-no-no-no-no-no-no. No.

So, what does this have to do with Five Nights? Well, I sat down and watched a Let’s Play of the game (specifically, Markiplier’s) to get a good idea of the new game. I like the story-driven-ness of the game. I would probably put this game in its own category, apart from the other games.

And…that’s all I have to say this week.

 

Let’s Connect:

@Isaac_Trenti

@CorrelationBlog

Leave a Reply

