The October Deadzone and My Thoughts on Assassin’s Creed

So as I prepared this post, I started by scoping around for big releases this month.

My results were, among other things, inconclusive, partially due to my own lack of involvement. We got a new Godzilla movie, Shin Godzilla, which I have heard lots of good things about, but haven’t gotten the chance to see. The big video game release of the month is Battlefield 1 (and Sister Location, but I covered that already), and nothing new for anime has crossed my path.

It doesn’t surprise me that there are times of the year when the powers that be stop releasing things, either because they are busy working on the next thing or they already released it in September. I guess you could draw a connection between this lull and the Sabbath which we are commanded to keep, except I am not that well-versed in the topic.

So, instead, I’m going to talk about something I know: Assassin’s Creed.

We recently got a bunch of trailers for various movies this week, including Assassin’s Creed, the movie about a group of hooded flippy-flippy-stabby-stabby people in ancient times, and a modern day…prison break from Abstergo?

This is where I have my concerns. I’ve only played Assassin’s Creed III, but I am quite familiar with the other games in the franchise. At least, I am familiar enough with them to know that nobody likes the Desmond missions. (Those missions being the points where the character leaves the past, returns to the present, and runs around for twenty minutes.) Those parts of the story do not make an AC game; the game where you play as a citizen of a designated historical time period. And it seems like Ubisoft is trying to sell the Desmond missions to us as the main plot.

Personally, I had plans to go see Assassin’s Creed this December. Note my use of the past tense.

 

Let’s Connect:

@Isaac_Trenti

@CorrelationBlog

One thought on “The October Deadzone and My Thoughts on Assassin’s Creed

  1. You know, we could acquaint you with Christian Sabbath principles we heard once. I think we might even have a book or two about it, or know someone who manages Sabbath Rest retreats on a regular basis. 🙂 Personally, I think the lull is to build up anticipation for Christmas releases. Of course, you know my thoughts on violent games and movies, but I love the phrase, “a group of hooded flippy-flippy-stabby-stabby people in ancient times.” It’s so you and made me smile this morning.

    From: The Correlation To: jolakell@frontiernet.net Sent: Wednesday, October 19, 2016 7:47 AM Subject: [New post] The October Deadzone and My Thoughts on Assassin’s Creed #yiv7052175922 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv7052175922 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv7052175922 a.yiv7052175922primaryactionlink:link, #yiv7052175922 a.yiv7052175922primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv7052175922 a.yiv7052175922primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv7052175922 a.yiv7052175922primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv7052175922 WordPress.com | isaactrenti posted: “So as I prepared this post, I started by scoping around for big releases this month.My results were, among other things, inconclusive, partially due to my own lack of involvement. We got a new Godzilla movie, Shin Godzilla, which I have heard lots of go” | |

    Like

Leave a Reply

