Food Wars? Check Please.

Note/Disclaimer: To be honest, I don’t like doing negative reviews. I like to share the things that I enjoy. Things that I find interesting. However, I make an exception here, and open with saying that I do not recommend this anime. I only reviewed it because it’s quite popular and recently got a second season. But I can’t really use that as an excuse. I didn’t read Twilight when it was popular; I read Dracula instead.

So, I realize that it’s been a while since I wrote about anime. And to be honest, it’s been a while since I sat down to watch an anime. I’ve been spending most of my time on YouTube, watching shorter videos.

And yet, I’m still not caught up on RWBY.

Anyway, I did get back into watching twenty-minute episodes with the series Food Wars! (spelled with an exclamation point, because Excitement!) The series centers around an eighth-grader named Soma, who works at his father’s kitchen, with the goal of eventually surpassing his father. In order to do so, his very supportive father sends Soma to an elite cooking school.

I describe this show as, effectively, One Punch Man met Ratatouille. Except instead of punching, they have cooking, and instead of awkward French stereotypes, they explain the culinary science behind the dishes, whether it’s “I’m wrapping mashed potatoes in bacon to make them taste like pork roast” or it’s “I’m tenderizing this meat with honey.”

So, it’s a good show, then, right?

Not entirely. While it is well made, and it looks well-researched, every episode has at least one “foodgasm” scene. They typically happens towards the end of the episode, and are rather sexually explicit in nature. Because they don’t last very long, I skipped over them (or made use of the “minimize” feature incorporated into most web browsers). I’ve only watched three episodes, so I cannot say if they get any less explicit. The show also has the inverse of these scenes (where a character eats something purely disgusting) as a running gag of a less than savory nature.

In closing, I like to give a rating with my anime reviews. I would give this show a higher rating were it not for the foodgasm scenes. They don’t make it the worst anime ever, but they certainly don’t help it any.

4/10 ~ Have I mentioned Devil is a Part-Timer on this blog yet? Watch that instead. Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to watch a show called “Anything Else.”

 

Let’s Connect:

@Isaac_Trenti

@CorrelationBlog

And, have a Happy and Safe Thanksgiving!

(I say safe, because my state is covered in about an inch snow and the roads are wet.)

 

4 thoughts on “Food Wars? Check Please.

  1. I actually like Food Wars / Shokugeki no Soma, but I can see where you’re coming from.
    If you continued watching the show the foodgasms would have ranged from less (even non-) explicit to more of the same that you’ve already seen (possibly more explicit… sorry it’s been a while since I watched the beginning so I’m not 100% sure). It’s an ecchi show so there are ecchi scenes, and you can guess where the majority of the foodgasms lean towards.
    Personally I like the humour of series and the characters, and the story is alright too. But fair enough if the foodgasms bothered you, because they (along with other forms of fan service) appear often throughout the anime and manga.
    Well, to each their own.
    Oh but there is one thing. And as a bit of a joke: *clears throat and then adopts a fake pompous British accent* You my good sir, have made an objective mistake! Soma is in the tenth grade not the eighth. Hmph! *sips tea indignantly like the fake English gentleman that I am*

    Like

    1. Fair enough. Again, I liked the show. I thought it was good , except for those scenes. It’s like…well, it’s like peanut butter on squid. The peanut butter is good like the anime, but the squid contradicts the flavor. But you’re right. It is to be expected of the genre. But there’s a certain level that’s to be expected. I thought Food Wars would be One Punch Man met Ratatouille, not an ecchi. I try to avoid those.
      And, to be honest, my ratings are not always final. A while back I did a review on Himouto Umaru-Chan after watching a few episodes, then came back to it later to finish, despite giving it a 6/10. There are few shows I abandoned for good (only one comes to mind). I may finish Food Wars…but probably after Hetalia Axis Powers, My Hero Academia, Assassination Classroom, and Re:Zero, not necessarily in that order. I’m still fairly new to anime (I only started a couple years back); I’ve got a lot of catching up to do.
      And in response to your joke:
      *adjusts monocle, also switching into an equally fake British accent* Well, I do apologize, my good sir. His father said he was finishing junior high, which I took to mean “graduating from eighth grade.” *removes monocle and goes back to my natural American accent* I guess I am not as well cultured as I thought…although, I did think he looked a little old for an eighth-grader. That makes sense. I’ll take it. My bad. Thank you, kairos5.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Respect for putting the peanut butter squid reference in the reply.
    And fair enough. I think that’s all that needs to be said (and it’s absolutely not because I can’t think of a ‘better’ way to say I agree more or less your reasonings even though my own subject views and standards on certain aspects led me to a different conclusion from those reasonings… Absolutely not that)
    I think I might need to mention that I went in with only knowing that it was an ecchi cooking manga and thinking “how?!” and well… got an answer.
    If you think about it, it’s not when you started watching anime that matters just how much you’ve already watched (and if you think you’ve got enough experience you’ve probably watched too much).
    *In an accent that surprisingly isn’t Australian* no probs mate.

    Like

Leave a Reply

