Video Game Adaptations: Could it Be How We Watch It?

So, no. I haven’t seen Rogue One yet. I mean, I would have by now if it weren’t for this little thing called SNOW.

Yes. SNOW. Everywhere! I haven’t heard anything about how well Rogue One did at the box office, but it wouldn’t surprise me if it tanked because of the blizzard on opening night and the sub-zero temperatures all weekend.

That said, I’m going to talk about an upcoming release rather than actually look at what’s in the theaters now: Assassin’s Creed.

I won’t say that I remember when the first game came out, but I do remember starting to get into the franchise when III hit the shelves. (In fact, ACIII is the only game I own and have personally played.) Likewise, I won’t say that I plan on going to see it when it comes out.

So, why am I bringing it up? Well, it’s the fourth video game adaptation this year, (the others being Warcraft, Ratchet & Clank, and Angry Birds), and…I won’t say it looks the best, but it looks better than at least two of the other adaptations.

In fact, Assassin’s Creed is the latest in a very, very long line of video game-to-movie adaptations, and people expect it to be as bad as its predecessors, the likes of Resident Evil, Super Mario Bros., Street Fighter, etc.

Yesterday afternoon, I sat down to watch one of the other three video game movies of this year, Warcraft, when it hit me: what if both sides are doing their job wrong? You see, Warcraft the movie is a fairly coherent storyline where everything makes sense…if you’ve played the games. The pool of mana at the top of Karazhan and why Medvih needed to soak in it after casting large spells? That made sense. The relationship between orcs and humans, both in regards to their similarities and their differences? That made sense. But to the outside eye, it probably doesn’t.

Maybe that’s the problem with video game adaptations: they rely too heavily upon their source material. They do so to the point that without the source material, they make little sense, as was the case with Warcraft. Or they spend the whole movie focused on worldbuilding or character introductions, as was the case with Mortal Kombat. Or they try to take on a completely different look and tone from the game for unspoken reasons. Lookin’ at you, Mario Bros.

So, in closing, maybe I will go see Assassin’s Creed, just out of curiosity. But not until I actually watch Rogue One.

 

Let’s Connect:

@Isaac_Trenti

@CorrelationBlog

One thought on “Video Game Adaptations: Could it Be How We Watch It?

  1. Good post. I will say that finding the right balance between using too much or too little of the course material is definitely easier said than done. I actually haven’t seen any of the game to film adaptations this year, but I am curious to check out Warcraft despite what I’ve heard about it.

    Also, yes, you definitely need to see Rogue One!! o.o

    Like

Leave a Reply

