Cult of Cthulhu: My Gripe with Lovecra–[retching noises]

So while everyone was watching the inauguration last Friday, I was poking about looking for anything else. Had I known what I would have found, I would’ve gladly watched Fuhrer Trump take over the executive role in our government. But, enough politics.

I found a trailer for an upcoming video game adaptation of Call of Cthulhu by H.P. Lovecraft.

[retching noises]

So, why do I feel negatively about this fandom?

Oh, where do I begin?

A few weeks ago, I did a post on the concept of mythos, where a fantasy world has a rich and deep backstory. Lovecraft [retching noises] has mythos down to a tee, due partially to his works being open-source and people adding to it over time.

My chief gripe with the Lovecraft [retching noises]—okay, you know what? This isn’t going to work. I’m calling him by his first name.

My chief gripe with the Howard fandom is that it strikes me as though his fans take the mythos way too seriously. It’s like they picked up Call of Cthulhu, read it, and their entire life was redefined. I picked it up and was unimpressed. I came for scary monsters, and the only description I got was “unspeakable eldritch horrors!” Sounds more like “unspeakably lazy writer” to me.

Not to mention, the story I read felt very anti-religion. The only form of religion shown was, in fact, the cult of Cthulhu, and they were a group of raving madmen worshiping an unknown deity that will eventually destroy the world, regardless of how many followers it has. The only deity I know of being called unknown is God, in Acts 17, and Scripture makes it very clear that God has no malevolent intent.

So, instead of digging deeper into the mythos, I took a long look at the fandom. Needless to say, it got weird. I am not one to compare a fandom to a religion, but this fandom felt a lot like the robed cultists from Howard’s writing, sitting around, chanting gibberish nonsense, passing a statue of the tentacle-faced piece of c…lay.

In closing, I originally titled this post, “Can Fans Ruin a Fandom?” I say yes, citing this as an example. It was overhyped, and the fans were a little…too overboard at times.

no-lovecraft-symbol

Let’s Connect:

@Isaac_Trenti

@CorrelationBlog

One thought on “Cult of Cthulhu: My Gripe with Lovecra–[retching noises]

Leave a Reply

