Miss Kobayashi’s Dragon Maid Review (Are We Really Doing This?)

Well, Happy March, everyone. I can already say that this month is going to be packed with things to talk about, from Logan to Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild, from Power Rangers to Ghost in the Shell, from Beauty and the Beast to Kong: Skull Island. So, how am I starting this month?

Why, with a review of Miss Kobayashi’s Dragon Maid, of course!

[Breaks down laughing.] What am I doing with my life?!

So, whenever a new anime metaphorically crosses my desk, the chances of it being an oddball series is statistically high. Assassination Classroom, an octopus teaching kids how to kill him. Seven Deadly Sins, a princess assembles a ragtag group of knights named after the seven deadly sins, despite none of them correlating with their namesake sin. The Devil is a Part-Timer!, Satan working at a McDonalds. Sorry, MgRonalds.

That said, whenever something fairly normal comes my way, I have a sense of skepticism. The last “normal” series to come my way was a simultaneous hit of Food Wars! and Yuri on Ice. I’ve already reviewed the first, and the second, as I’ve been told, is all ice skating and…irony.

I bring this up because Miss Kobayashi’s Dragon Maid is, in fact, one of the oddball animes. The premise is that dragons exist in the real world, but they hide themselves through magic. The eponymous Kobayashi, while drunk, saves the life of a dragon named Tohru. The next morning, after sobering up, Kobayashi is met by Tohru in human form, dressed as a maid, ready to repay Kobayashi for her debts.

So, pretty straightforward, actually. Once you get past the “my maid is a dragon” concept, it’s actually quite bearable. I don’t have anything negative to say about it at the moment. The fanservice is my only issue, but—in their defense—they do warn us in the episode titles.

7.5/10 ~ decent series for being a show with a premise that seems concocted on acid. Then again, this is coming from the guy who likes Assassination Classroom, Devil is a Part-Timer, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, and on certain days, Adventure Time. Make of it what you will.

 

Let’s Connect:

@Isaac_Trenti

@CorrelationBlog

Leave a Reply

