Breath of the Wild…a big breath at that.

Don’t worry. I’m still alive. I just needed to take a week off to process through a couple things. I’m not yet at liberty to talk about what it is, but it’s nothing detrimental. I’m still processing these things, but I’m doing better now.

That, and I needed some time to put some hours into Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild before I review it. Because, good gravy, this game is massive!

[For perspective, I bought it for the WiiU.]

Even after playing it for about eleven days now, I still don’t know what to say about it. Sure, it’s a fantastic game, but I was hoping I’d find some kind of deeper Christian meaning in it. At this point, it’s still too early to tell. The only Christian influence I could see in this game was in the Temple of Time, and how it looks like a cathedral.

That, and I think the game is finally monotheistic. They’re referring to a singular goddess rather than three goddesses. It could be a misunderstanding of the lore, though.

And, since it’s too early in the game, I can’t speak for the story. I’ve taken down the first “Divine Beast” (giant robot animal thing), explored two more sections of the map, and I still feel like I’m only in Act I of the story.

So, what is there to say about it?

It’s a good game. I would easily call Breath of the Wild game of the year, despite it only coming out in March. To be fair, it will probably take until the end of this year to finish playing through the game.

If I could summarize how the game plays, it feels less like a Legend of Zelda game and more like a hybrid of Skyrim and Assassin’s Creed. Not that I’m complaining. Both games are good, and the best parts of each, with the best parts of Legend of Zelda, come together quite nicely.

As for how this game compares to other Zelda games, this one feels the most like Wind Waker to me, probably because of the massive, open world, free for the player to explore. And the presence of the Koroks. And Beedle. And camera controls.

Seriously. Camera controls. I liked Twilight Princess and Ocarina of Time, but camera controls would have made the games a thousand times better.

In summary, I like Breath of the Wild a lot, but I haven’t finished it yet. My opinions may change, but I’m hopeful for this title.

 

Let’s Connect:

@Isaac_Trenti

@CorrelationBlog

Leave a Reply

