How the Bible portrays Hell

Well, I’m back from my brief hiatus. I got my things taken care of, and now I’m in a place where I can blog again.

So, I was scrolling through my older posts, and I found a few old articles based around the theme of “How the Media Portrays…” I did Jesus, angels, and demons, but what about Heaven and Hell?

Well, I’ll get to Heaven at some point, because this week, we’re going to Hell.

Metaphorically.

Now, the main issue I have is that there are many different interpretations of Hell in the media, just as there are many different interpretations of Jesus, angels, and demons. The problem with discussing Hell is that it seems not even the Christians have a good idea about how Hell looks.

So, normally, I would start with the media and then look to the Bible, but in this case, I’m going to do it backwards, solely so I can get a good understanding of things.

 

The Bible (the definitive)

In the translation I use (NIV 2011), “Hell,” the word, doesn’t really come up in conversation that much. Four of these times are the, “If your X causes you to stumble, cut it off; for it is better to lose one part of your body than for your whole body to go to Hell,” passages, and several others are in a similar vein.

So, I broadened my search to the concept of Hell. A lot of the passages I came across acknowledge that Hell is a place, and it involves fire. In my studies, one of the most telling passages is Revelation 20:7-10, where Satan receives his final judgment: being “thrown into the lake of burning sulfur” where he “will be tormented day and night for ever and ever.” (Verse 10)

I have two things to note about Hell, from this passage. First, sulfur technically doesn’t burn, as it is a mineral. Rather, it melts at roughly four-hundred degrees Fahrenheit, and boils at twice that temperature. Any scientists in the audience, feel free to correct me if I’m wrong.

Second, we know that Hell is calibrated to torment demons for eternity. Just to put that in perspective.

With that, I’m going to leave the rest of this article for next week. This one is going to be lengthy.

 

Let’s Connect:

@Isaac_Trenti

@CorrelationBlog

2 thoughts on “How the Bible portrays Hell

  1. *science person arrives*

    I agree with most of this, but there are a few things wrong here. Sulfur (an element not a mineral) IS actually quite flammable. It’s commonly used as the burning agent in matches and burns quite easily in air. On a side note, it smells like rotten eggs when lit.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

